Cozy Up with BIG BULKY!!

Yes, it has been a pretty mild winter as far as Maine winters go.  But we can count on a few more cold months, and many more nights snuggled up on the couch after a long day.

I started this blanket last fall, when my son began his first High School football season, however time got away from me and moments on the couch at the end of the day for me were spent with my head slumped to the side  …. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.    So I e-mailed my friend Susan –who saves my butt and finishes my work.  🙂

So here are the details of the Big Bulky Blanket.

Size: 40″X 50″

Materials: 7 skeins of Romney Ridge Farm Bulky Yarn -6 natural & 1 Over-dyed.

Needles: size 15 circular needles.

CO: 108 sts

Ribbing K2, P4 for 5 rows.

Knit MC for 5 inches then switch to stripe color. Knit 6 rows of stripe, switch back to MC for 2 rows, knit 2 more rows of stripe color then back to MC.

Knit MC for 22 inches

Switch to Stripe color and Knit 2 rows, switch to MC and Knit 2 rows, switch back to stripe color and Knit 6 rows.  Knit 5 inches of MC.

Repeat ribbing.  Bind off and weave in ends.

The Big Bulky is meant to be a lap sized blanket, but you could add two more natural colored skeins and make it longer.  Warning: once you crawl under it, you won’t want to leave!:)

About Kelly L. Corbett

Owner, Artist & Shepherdess of Romney Ridge Farm Yarn Co.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment